Starbucks’ Pumpkin Scone — Copycat!

Baking, Breakfast, Holiday Baking, Pastries

photo (2)

Pumpkin hits my family real big this time of year. Actually, more like year round but the bulk of it happens September through December. My Mom stocks up on the big cans of pumpkin purée (she claims it’s cheaper this time of year) to use in her baking year round. She makes plenty of breads, cream cheese muffins, and an amazing caramel pumpkin bread pudding that she is saving for our Christmas dessert this year. Last year, I made it for my work potluck then had it again two days later at Thanksgiving and got so sick of it! This year I am going to be better and only indulge in it once.

This year I wanted to make pumpkin scones, not just any scone though. I wanted to recreate the Starbucks’ pumpkin scone. I don’t make scones all that often. I tend to forget them amongst a pastry case of croissants, muffins, and cinnamon rolls. But I’ve come across a lot of Starbucks’ pumpkin scone copy cat recipes on Pinterest lately and have been meaning to try them for a while.

Fun fact, I worked at Starbucks for about three years. It was my first real job in high school, and I continued to work there through college. I also did not start drinking coffee until a few years ago, way after my time at Starbucks.

Anyway, today was the big day to try the scones!

I haven’t had a pumpkin scone from Starbucks in a long while but I can certainly tell you they are not as big as the ones I made! These scones were pretty rich and dense, almost cake like. My Mom and Dad thought they tasted more like pumpkin bread. The more I ate them, I began to realize they tasted like gingerbread cookies, like really thick gingerbread cookies. I think it was probably the icing and all the pumpkin pie spice in the dough and glaze.

I have a bad history with icing. I’m just not fan. I don’t get the chemistry of it with the heap of powdered sugar and drop of milk. I can’t handle it! My Mom had to help me with this glaze by basically pouring milk into the powdered sugar while I stirred. She poured drop by drop until we got the right consistency. The recipe said 2 tablespoons but I think we only used 1 tablespoon. We more or less spread it on to the scones, which I don’t think was right but it worked fine. For the pumpkin glaze, I used up what was left of the pumpkin so probably a little more than the required tablespoon. It was pretty runny so I didn’t add any milk like the recipe said. I also got lazy and drizzled it on with a spoon rather than piping it with a bag, less clean up and just as beautiful!

I had some trouble with the dough. Once all the ingredients were combined, it was still wet and incredibly sticky. I added another 3 tablespoons or so before I was able to transfer it to the flour covered cutting board to shape it.

I think they came out fine otherwise and certainly tasted great!

Some other edits I made: I didn’t have buttermilk so I did the old lemon juice and milk trick. I also didn’t have half and half, so 2% milk all the way! Also, great to cut down on calories where you can!

Here are my pics to show every step of the way!

IMG_2680   IMG_2682   IMG_2683

IMG_2688   IMG_2689   IMG_2690IMG_2693   IMG_2694

I used this recipe from cookingclassy.

Leave a Reply

