Chocolate Peppermint Blossom Crinkle Cookies

Baking, Chocolate, Cookies, Holiday Baking, TV, Music, & Movies

IMG_2802

It’s the first Christmas Cookie of the Season! I got in the Christmas spirit yesterday and decided to get a head start on my holiday baking. Every year, I give out an assortment of Christmas cookies to all my friends. But this year my sister is getting married…two days after Christmas! So there is a lot of prep going into the wedding, but I won’t let it stop me from my Christmas cookie tradition! That just means making use of these slow couple of weeks and freezing a lot of cookies.

I have some usual players in my annual Christmas baking: candy cane cookies, cake balls, almond crescents. But I don’t think I’ve ever made chocolate crinkles! Probably when I was younger, but certainly not recently. I found this great recipe for Chocolate Peppermint Blossoms on…you guessed it, pinterest. This recipe used milk chocolate Hershey kisses, but I decided to really push the envelope on your letter to Santa and use peppermint striped kisses instead! I was afraid the peppermint kisses and the peppermint cookies would equal peppermint overload, but they worked together wonderfully and looked great! They tasted like peppermint bark as cookies. Say Peppermint again.

Here are some pics of the process.

IMG_2789   IMG_2792   IMG_2795 IMG_2796   IMG_2797   IMG_2798 IMG_2799   IMG_2805       IMG_2801   IMG_2803   IMG_2804

And don’t be jealous of my Wilton three tiered cooling rack. That’s right, three tiers! It was on sale at Michael’s for $7.99! I highly recommend it to anyone who has unfavorably little counter space in your kitchen!

I also wanted to include my playlist for this holiday baking event! A couple of years ago, I got this great Christmas CD for my Mom at Joann’s Fabric Store no less! But I ended up liking it so much that I’m really the only one who plays it on repeat this time of year. The CD is called “Hot Songs for a Cool Yule” and includes timeless classics sung by Dean Martin, Kay Starr, Ella Fitzgerald, and many more! It’s a great mix of songs and there are no duds, like I don’t want to skip any; they are all winners. The CD opens with “(Everybody’s Waitin’ for) The Man with the Bag,” and it might be the best possible opening song on any CD I’ve ever heard. There’s trumpets, horns, and piano! It’s a jazzy Christmas staple, and it instantly sets the tone for the next forty minutes. When I worked at Banana Republic for my first Holiday season, this song used to come on all the time, and it was the first time I had ever heard it! My co-worker and I absolutely loved it! No matter where we were or what we were doing in the store, when this song came on, we would find each other and dance and sing along until it ended with that big finale. We would repeat this every couple of hours when the song would come on again. Little did I know I had the very same song on a CD at home, and I just hadn’t played it yet!

Another favorite (aside from “Santa Baby” since Eartha Kitt is as nutty as they come) is Nancy Wilson’s “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?” because I just love the story within this song. I think it’s just adorable. It’s basically, I know we haven’t been seeing each other all that long, but hey let’s make some future plans. I also imagine this song as a back drop for that scene in The Holiday when Jack Black asks Kate Winslet if she has any plans for New Year’s Eve. Would-be power couple, JGL and Zooey Deschanel performed a lovely cover of this song back in 2011.

Anyway take a listen for yourself! Follow this link to sample a listen of each song and maybe buy it as a gift or for yourself to enjoy for many Christmases to come!

One thought on “Chocolate Peppermint Blossom Crinkle Cookies

Leave a Reply

