Spiced Chai Egg Nog Cookies

Baking, Cookies, Holiday Baking, TV, Music, & Movies

IMG_2839

I was inspired to make these cookies by none other than pop sensation Taylor Swift. She posted this pic to instagram back in September and sent the media into a frenzy! I would have made these cookies when I first saw them but where the hell do you get egg nog in September? Did she go to a speciality store? Does Rhode Island just sell egg nog year round? Maybe she made her own…

So I waited until Christmas time when egg nog is readily available to commoners, like me. Also, pinterest and celebrity gossip sites alike were posting recipes for T-Swift’s cookies! But they all called for a Betty Crocker sugar cookie mix. Whaaaat! Now I highly doubt that Miss Swift used a sugar cookie mix if she made her own egg nog, like I suspect. So I decided to combine cookie recipes…sort of. I used this recipe for egg nog cookies and rather than add 1 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp cinnamon I just added the contents of a chai tea bag that listed cinnamon, nutmeg, and so many other spices among the ingredients (PEPPER! I know weird, but it worked).

I am obsessed with Trader Joe’s Spiced Chai. I was on a vanilla chai tea latte kick at Starbucks about six months ago. So rather than spending all my money at Starbucks, I thought I’d try this chai tea that caught my eye when I was shopping at Trader Joe’s one time. I thought I’d made a huge mistake when I took the plastic off the box and the chai smell was so strong and spicy! It was a lot to handle for a chai novice! But once I tried a cup with a bit of sugar and milk, I was hooked! When I saw Taylor’s chai egg nog cookies, I knew I had to use my treasured Trader Joe’s Spiced Chai tea when I made them.

IMG_2806   IMG_2809

IMG_2811   IMG_2812   IMG_2813   IMG_2814   IMG_2819   IMG_2837

Yet again, I had an issue with the icing. Icing texture makes zero sense to me. I used 2 Tbsp rather than the suggested 3 with my 1 cup of powdered sugar. It was so thick, like cinnamon roll icing, so I carefully eyeballed a bit more eggnog, certainly less than a tablespoon. Then, when I drizzled it over the cookies, most of it rolled off. It wasn’t as thin as some of my other icing disasters, so you can still kind of see it on the cookies. But no worries, at least the sprinkled nutmeg had something to stick to!

I was pleasantly surprised by these cookies! They were not like any cookie I have ever made or tasted, primarily because there was no chocolate involved. But they were really good! They had a nice sweet creamy taste from the eggnog that worked well with the spice from the chai tea. I will have to make them again following the recipe with cinnamon and nutmeg and not add the chai tea bag, just to taste the difference.

For this day of baking, I listened to old classics from my childhood from Nick at Nite’s “A Classic Cartoon Christmas.”

Album.nickatnite

Oh that picture of the CD cover really takes me back! We lost the cover years ago so I only know the the actual disc. This is the perfect CD to get you in the holiday spirit, especially for kids or nostalgic adults. It features tunes from all the TV Specials synonymous with Christmas: Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Frosty the Snowman, Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town, and Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer. Basically all the songs from the stop motion animated (referred to as “animagic”) specials from the seventies, and boy do I love them! Something about these songs makes me do a little dance, like a rocking back and forth like I’m a little doll. I probably got it from this. Those darn Whos.

My personal favorite is “We’re a Couple of Misfits” from Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer. But do I love to hate it? I don’t know. It’s just so whiny but like nasally at the same time. And the lyrics are wonderfully smart and such amazing ryhmes! “Why am I such a misfit? I am not just a nitwit. They can’t fire me. I quit!” Oh Hermey, such a complex character in such a progressive cartoon. Need I remind you, he was ostracized from Santa’s elves for wanting to become a dentist. A DENTIST. I can’t think of anyone who has ever been so passionate about being a dentist, except probably my own dentist.

Did I mention there are muppets singing on this CD?? Oh yes, the whole lot of them. But don’t think this CD is all fun and games, they managed to sneak in a few non-desirables. I’ve certainly never heard any one scream out “The Little Drummer Boy?! Turn it up!” But maybe I’m with the wrong crowd.

Aside from like two songs, this soundtrack is a cheery delight! I can only think of one song that would really round out this lineup…

2 thoughts on “Spiced Chai Egg Nog Cookies

Leave a Reply

