Homemade Marshmallows

Baking, Holiday Baking

image_3

I got so caught up in baking Christmas cookies followed by layers upon layers of cake that baking and I needed to take a break. The holidays were so busy and filled with plenty of sweets and desserts. I was stuffed. Mary in a blanket.

I was thinking about my baking break and thought, why should my blog suffer? As if from a dream, I came up with marshmallows. I had seen them posted a couple months ago on a blog I follow and a friend made them a couple of years ago. They seemed simple enough and worth a try! So marshmallows were the way to go! No baking or chocolate required! Well, except for hot chocolate.

I used Alton Brown’s recipe because I respect his scientific take on cooking/baking. He gets it. His recipes are so easy to follow and there is even a video! He makes it very difficult for you to mess up at all.

IMG_3099  IMG_3101  IMG_3105

First you have three packets of unflavored gelatin. Add half a cup of cold water and wait ten minutes for it to “bloom.” The center photo shows when the water and gelatin are first combined. The far right photo is after ten minutes.

IMG_3098  IMG_3103

While the gelatin is blooming, heat sugar, salt, water, and corn syrup together in a covered saucepan for 3-4 minutes. Then remove lid and heat for another 8 minutes until temperature reaches 240 degrees F. I didn’t have a candy thermometer so I chose to wing it. I timed it on the stove for the 8 minutes and it turned out fine.

IMG_3106  IMG_3107  IMG_3110

Beat the gelatin mixture on low while you transfer the sugar mixture from the stove to the mixing bowl. Try to pour down the side of the bowl while the mixer is on other wise you will have a big old sticky mess and/or burn your face off. Once combined, up the mixing to high for about 14 minutes. Add 1 teaspoon vanilla during last minute of beating. God bless my sister for letting me use her newly gifted Kitchen Aid standing mixer for this part. I don’t know how my poor handheld mixer would have faired after mixing for 15 minutes!!

IMG_3116  IMG_3120

I can’t believe how big and fluffy the mixture became! It had the texture of marshmallow fluff, which it is essentially. While the marshmallows are being fluffed, prepare your 13 X 9 inch pan. Grease the pan with cooking spray and sprinkle with cornstarch and powdered sugar sifted together and make sure every bit of that pan is covered.

IMG_3115

IMG_3122  IMG_3123

Spray a spatula with cooking spray to help spread the marshmallow fluff into the pan. Sprinkle top of marshmallows with more cornstarch/powdered sugar. Then let set for four hours preferably overnight.

image_3  image_1

Once set, flip pan upside down and transfer to parchment paper. I used a pizza slicer but a knife would do fine. Spray with some cooking spray to make cutting the marshmallow block a bit smoother.

image_8  image_6

IMG_20150106_120918  image_2

It has been so dang cold lately that I had to make some hot chocolate to pair with these marshmallows! I found a recipe on pinterest that was a Starbucks copy cat, and you know how I’m all about that so I gave it a try. It was the perfect base to melt these freshly made marshmallows!

image_17

All in all the marshmallows were so fun to make but I don’t think I’d do it again any time soon. They had a great texture and were sweet, but they didn’t taste like much. I don’t know if that could have been changed by adding more vanilla or what. I think they’d be really great dipped in melted chocolate or probably in a s’more since they melt amazingly. This recipe also made like over 40 good sized marshmallows and was really easy so I would definitely recommend making them as a holiday DIY gift for friends. I’d probably give a bag of some of these with a jar of hot chocolate mix with the written instructions attached. That would be real cute. Also they last for 3 weeks when stored in airtight container.

 image_14  image_15  image_11

P.S. I am having a love affair with this Chip mug the newlyweds brought back for me from Disney World.

UPDATE: I dipped some marshmallows in melted bitter-sweet chocolate. They were amazing! They tasted similar to See’s Candies’ scotchmallows, and I loved it. Definitely need to go and cover some more marshmallows in chocolate because they are a delight!

Leave a Reply

