Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Baking, Chocolate, Cookies

IMG_3161

So remember in my last post, I was all like “baking and I need to take a break” meow meow meow. Well, good news: we are back on! LOLZ. I can’t believe I was complaining about too many sweets in the house! Boy that didn’t last long before I was searching the premises for anything chocolate.

And what better way to treat my fix than with chocolatey chocolate chip cookies?!

In case you’re new, I’m really into chocolate. Like more than a fan, we’re involved. Always have been, always will be. When I was like five years old, my parents would punish me by not letting me have chocolate for a week. I remember I had one day left of my sentence when my Mom made brownies. My sister had eaten all but the edges of her brownie and left it in the kitchen. I walked in, saw it there, and started nibbling away as quietly as I could. My parents heard me, and sure enough tacked on another week. But now that I am of age, I can eat chocolate for breakfast, lunch, and dinner whenever I want! #thisiswhyimdoughy

I have used this recipe for double chocolate chip cookies a few times and they are delicious! I use a teaspoon scoop which is probably too small but they make great bite-size cookie popables! This time I made generous scoops for bigger chewier cookies (they had to bake a little longer, about 12 min).

Fun Fact, the first time I made these cookies, I thought the cookies in the first batch were too small so for the next batch I made them a bit bigger, but they just would not bake! I kept extending the timer on them, another 2 minutes, another 4 minutes. And I was like this is just ridiculous! I had actually turned off the oven when I turned off the kitchen timer from the first batch. Whooops. But all the other times I’ve made these cookies since have been a huge success!

I like to use Crisco butter flavored shortening instead of butter in my chocolate chip cookies. It is a special secret! They yield fluffier cookies and even give them a great buttery color! That’s probably not good…but who wants “healthy” chocolate chip cookies! Also, the butter flavored shortening sits at room temperature in the pantry so it is always at prime cookie making temp, which means no more pesky waiting time for that butter to soften.

IMG_3143

And if I’m feeling particularly extravagant, I like to use Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips. They are a bit pricey, so I like to pick them up whenever they go on sale. Ghiradelli chocolate has my heart. I don’t know if it’s because we are both native San Franciscans or the way they give me a free chocolate square whenever I visit one of their stores. No, it’s definitely their chocolate. Their chocolate is absolutely amazing out of this world. I stand by it for all my baking. I love their white chocolate melting wafers for cake balls. And their chocolate supreme brownie mix makes the best brownies I have ever made.

IMG_3135  IMG_3137   

IMG_3141  IMG_3143_1  IMG_3146

IMG_3152  IMG_3150

IMG_3155  IMG_3157  IMG_3159

IMG_3153

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 cup butter, softened (I used butter-flavored Crisco)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In large bowl, beat butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt; stir into the butter mixture until well blended. Mix in the chocolate chips and walnuts. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.
  3. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or just until set. Cool slightly on the cookie sheets before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

recipe via sharonstrands.com

Leave a Reply

