I’ve Got a Thing for Cinnamon Buns

Baking

I am all about the cinnamon buns. I know, shocking, since I am mostly all about chocolate. Cinnamon Sugar? Who am I? Now while I have always been a fan of cinnamon rolls, I think cinnamon buns are a bit different. Cinnamon rolls, in my experience with the pillsbury canned variety, are light, airy, and poppable. Cinnamon buns are more dense and biscuit-like. My first cinnamon bun was a few years ago now from the Basque Boulangerie Café on the Sonoma Square. I fell in love, and now it is a must have every time I am in Sonoma.

IMG_1150

Get a load of that bun! I hope the picture does it justice because it is a really large pastry. They are not messing around! This was also the first place I tried a vanilla latte! Well, a vanilla latte with whole milk…such a different taste. Give it a try some time! It pairs wonderfully with cinnamon buns…

I don’t have all that much experience baking cinnamon rolls or cinnamon buns. They are a lot of work and require a lot of time, and I have just never been up for the challenge, at least not until I saw a recipe for a Giant Cinnamon Roll Cake! This cake was a dream come true for me, and I couldn’t wait to try and make it for myself!

This cake rose two separate times. Once in the bowl and then another time after it had been rolled out, spread with butter, sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, and rolled up into the pan. This thing more than doubled in size in the pan within about an hour! I was nervous about rolling the six strips into one big cinnamon roll. At first I had rolled it too tightly. Since it has to rise in the pan, it needs to be loosely rolled up so it has room to expand.

 IMG_0061   IMG_0060

Look at the size of that thang!

IMG_0062   IMG_0063

And here it is after it was baked.

IMG_0066

This cake was everything I dreamed it would be and more!! Oh it was so good and absolutely on par with the cinnamon bun I usually get at Basque Boulangerie. I realized that the only problem with this cinnamon roll cake is that there is only one center! And everyone knows that the center of a cinnamon roll is the best part! Of course, I love the layers of a cinnamon bun, and they are wonderful to eat in a slice like this. But I think next time I use this recipe, I’ll just make 6 huge cinnamon buns rather than the cake, that way I will have 6 centers! Needless to say, this is not my last time making cinnamon buns.

One thought on “I’ve Got a Thing for Cinnamon Buns

Leave a Reply

